Charles Dickens

The Chimes

“The good old times, the good old times … what times they were!” Set during the Christmas period, ‘The Chimes’ is an affecting examination of social structure, hypocrisy, and emotional poverty. The central figure, Trotty Veck, is gradually losing his faith in humanity. However, the church bells and a horde of goblins may have the answer to his melancholy. Written in four parts, ‘The Chimes’ sees Dickens dissect the smug attitudes of the wealthy and the bleak fortunes of the poor while focusing on the good that is in everyone.

Charles Dickens (1812–1870) was an English author, social critic, and philanthropist. He is the author of 15 novels, five novellas, and hundreds of short stories. Among his most famous works are 'Oliver Twist' (1839), 'A Christmas Carol' (1843), and 'Great Expectations' (1861). Several of his books have been adapted for film, with characters such as Jacob Marley in 'A Christmas Carol' played by Alec Guinness.
107 halaman cetak
Publikasi asli
Tahun publikasi
Saga Egmont

Versi lain

Sudahkah Anda membacanya? Bagaimanakah menurut Anda?
Seret dan letakkan file Anda (maksimal 5 sekaligus)