Paul Carus

The Four Noble Truths And The Eightfold Path

This is the extended edition including

* an extensive annotation of more than 10.000 words about the history and basics of Buddhism

In this book Paul Carus compiles the fundamental teachings of the Buddha: the four Noble Truths, the Eightfold Path, and Buddha's sermons and advice to his disciples. In this reading, Buddha explains how nirvana can result from the discipline of the Noble Eightfold Path. In his teachings, Buddha did not claim divine authority, instead he emphasizes that each person should trust his own experience. (courtesy of lander.edu).


First Truth — The Noble Truth Of Suffering

The Five Groups Of Existence
The “Corporeality Group” Of Four Elements
Dependent Origination Of Consciousness
The Three Characteristics Of Existence
The Three Warnings

Second Truth — The Noble Truth Of The Origin Of Suffering

The Threefold Craving
Heaping Up Of Present Suffering
Heaping Up Of Future Suffering
Inheritance Of Deeds (Karma)

Third Truth — The Noble Truth Of The Extinction Of Suffering

Dependent Extinction Of All Phenomena
The Arahat, Or Holy One The Immutable

Fourth Truth — The Noble Truth Of The Path That Leads To The Extinction Of Suffering The Two Extremes And The Middle Path

The Eightfold Path

First Step — Right Understanding
Second Step — Right Mindedness
Third Step — Right Speech
Fourth Step — Right Action
Fifth Step — Right Living
Sixth Step — Right Effort
Seventh Step -Right Attentiveness
Eighth Step — Right Concentration
Development Of The Eightfold Path In The Disciple
99 halaman cetak
Pemilik hak cipta
Publikasi asli
Tahun publikasi
Sudahkah Anda membacanya? Bagaimanakah menurut Anda?


  • Daria Zaytsevamembuat kutipan4 tahun yang lalu
    which leads to peace, to insight, to the higher wisdom, to Nirvāna
  • Daria Zaytsevamembuat kutipan4 tahun yang lalu
    which he expounded what he considered the main features of his system
Seret dan letakkan file Anda (maksimal 5 sekaligus)